The pleasure of a purely natural fine wine

An encounter with a land, vines and wine

Tasting a Château Bellegrave first and foremost means enjoying a fine Bordeaux. However, it is also an encounter with a land and vines that have found their soul and the ability to express themselves naturally, without artifice, fashion or sectarianism. The wine is elegant. It is beautiful. Pomerol and organic all in one!

Château Bellegrave - Grappe de raisin
Chateau Bellegrave - Jean-Marie Bouldy

A clear history from generation to generation

The heritage of a winemaking spirit

You can have a great family history without going all the way back into the mists of time! At Château Bellegrave, three generations are enough to give meaning to a little world devoted to nature, the land and the vines, in the unique terroir that is Pomerol.

Jean Bouldy bought the estate in 1951. His son Jean-Marie is now continuing his work and shaping the destiny of Château Bellegrave, with his wife and children by his side.

Château Bellegrave - tonneaux

terroir

THE ROOTS OF POMEROL

Château Bellegrave - separator

The Pomerol application covers some 800 hectares of land that are known and appreciated across the world.
But at Château Bellegrave, we start off by talking about pebbles, sand and red clay.
Wine can be drunk on the other side of the world, this world that creates what we are going to describe, these minerals drawn from millions of stones, billions of grains of sand, clay particles creating flavours that would not otherwise exist.

ORGANICALLY ORGANIC

Reopen a dialogue with nature

It all began with an observation and then amazement in the early 2000s.

Conventional winemaking, even in its more sustainable forms, was a time bomb for the earth, plants and humankind. Without sectarianism, ideology or passing fads, Jean-Marie Bouldy simply, discreetly and patiently began to convert his vineyards. He reopened a dialogue with nature and rediscovered his trade. No magic, just agricultural know-how at its purest, enhanced with cutting-edge science and knowledge – as well as self-sacrifice, love and great character!

Château Bellegrave - Vendanges
Château Bellegrave - Vendanges

our wines

THE BIRTHPLACE OF ELEGANCE

Allowing each vintage to express itself

If we had to describe Château Bellegrave in one word, it would be ‘elegance’.
A word that sums up but does not say it all, as nothing is more important to Jean-Marie Bouldy than allowing each vintage the freedom to express itself and tell its story. All he does is accompany, support and assist them. Not much, but still essential!

THEY LOVE OUR WINES

Château Bellegrave - separator

They are famous, they are anonymous, and they share a love for Château Bellegrave. They love the wines, the work, and Jean-Marie Bouldy’s approach.
They express themselves sincerely.

Château Bellegrave - Verre

PASSIONATE ENCOUNTERS

Discover the chateau and its wines

We look forward to seeing you! Château Bellegrave arranges visits to taste its wines and explore the secrets of organic cultivation combining head and heart, and peek behind the scenes of a winemaking process that reveals the personality of the estate’s wines, vintage after vintage.
And all in a truly family atmosphere!

Château Bellegrave - bouteilles
Château Bellegrave - Allée de vignes

Le plaisir d’un grand vin par nature

La rencontre avec une terre, des vignes, un vin

Déguster un Château Bellegrave, c’est bien entendu et avant tout s’offrir le plaisir d’un grand Bordeaux. Mais c’est aussi une rencontre avec une terre et des vignes qui ont eu la chance de retrouver leur âme, de s’exprimer tout naturellement, à l’abri des artifices, des modes et des sectarismes. Le vin est élégant. Il est beau. Pomerol et bio à la fois !

Château Bellegrave - Grappe de raisin
Chateau Bellegrave - Jean-Marie Bouldy

Une histoire évidente, de génération en génération

L’esprit vigneron en héritage

Il est possible de parler d’une belle histoire de famille sans que celle-ci ne remonte à la nuit des temps ! Au Château Bellegrave, trois générations ont suffit pour donner un sens à un petit monde dédié à la nature, à la terre, à la vigne, sur un terroir unique : Pomerol.

Jean Bouldy achète la propriété en 1951. Jean-Marie, son fils, reprend le flambeau pour aujourd’hui accompagner la destinée du Château Bellegrave, entouré de sa femme et de ses enfants.

Château Bellegrave - tonneaux

terroir

AUX RACINES DU POMEROL

Château Bellegrave - separator

L’appellation Pomerol, ce sont quelque 800 ha mondialement connus et reconnus.
Mais au Château Bellegrave, on va d’abord vous parler de cailloux, de sable et d’argile rouge.
Le vin peut être dégusté à l’autre bout de la terre, c’est d’abord cette terre qui le voit naître que l’on va vous décrire, ces minéraux arrachés aux millions de cailloux, aux milliards de grains de sables, aux particules d’argiles engendrant des saveurs qui ne sauraient exister ailleurs.

BIOLOGIQUE PAR LOGIQUE

Renouer le dialogue avec la nature

Tout commence par un constat, puis une stupéfaction au début des années 2000.

La viticulture conventionnelle – bien que très raisonnée – était une bombe à retardement pour la terre, la plante, les hommes. Sans sectarisme, ni idéologie, ni effet de mode, Jean-Marie Bouldy entame simplement, discrètement, patiemment la conversion de son vignoble. Il renoue un dialogue avec la nature, redécouvre son métier. Pas de magie : c’est de l’agronomie à l’état pur, enrichie des savoirs et d’une science très actuels. Et de l’abnégation, de l’amour et un sacré caractère !

Château Bellegrave - Vendanges
Château Bellegrave - Vendanges

nos vins

LE BERCEAU DE L’ÉLÉGANCE

Laisser chaque millésime s’exprimer

S’il fallait un mot pour qualifier un vin de Château Bellegrave : élégance !
Un mot qui résume mais ne dit pas tout car rien n’est plus précieux pour Jean-Marie Bouldy que de laisser à chaque millésime la liberté de s’exprimer, de raconter son histoire. Il suffit juste de l’accompagner, le soutenir, l’aider. C’est peu et c’est pourtant essentiel !

ILS AIMENT

Château Bellegrave - separator

Ils sont célèbres, ils sont anonymes : ils ont en commun d’aimer le Château Bellegrave. Ils apprécient autant les vins que le travail et la démarche de Jean-Marie Bouldy.
Ils s’expriment avec sincérité.

Château Bellegrave - Verre

LE RENDEZ-VOUS DES PASSIONS

Découvrir le château et ses vins

Vous êtes attendus ! Le Château Bellegrave organise pour vous des visites pour déguster tout en découvrant les secrets d’une culture biologique qui associe le cœur et la raison et les coulisses d’une vinification qui révèle aux vins de la propriété leur personnalité, millésime après millésime.
Le tout, dans une ambiance très familiale !

Château Bellegrave - bouteilles
Château Bellegrave - Allée de vignes